- BC Clan Shoutbox

Author Topic: Fixed my sound...and then-  (Read 976 times)

Offline Hambone

  • I'll remove my shirt AND BLIND YOU ALL!!
  • BC Regular
  • Posts: 8370
  • Baseball is the greatest thing on Earth...
    • View Profile
Fixed my sound...and then-
« on: January 19, 2011, 05:33:22 am »
Alright, so if you've been following my posts the last few weeks, you've read that first I had issues with USPS not sending me my RAM, and then having sound issues. Well, since then, both have been resolved (thankfully).

But right around when I finally received my RAM, and before I noticed the sound issue, I had reformatted and begun having random bluescreening, always happening during a youtube, or other flash-based videos.  So I thought, alright, just have to reinstall flash, and I should be fine.  I had no problems with these scenarios for quite some time....until today.  Bluescreen right toward the end of a rather funny youtube video.  Everything else, games, browsing, etc, no bluescreens.

This time, I recognized the blue screen message as one that I had seen before and researched. I found it to be a memory failure. I immediately popped in my Ubuntu disc, and ran the memtest86 v2.11 that was included.  Sure enough, test 5 yielded 4 big ugly red errors.  FML.

This only leaves me to wonder, if I had gotten the original set of RAM, would this have happened?  I'm starting to think I will soon have my own "from hell" story to tell, similar to ATL's. Only difference is that mine was just supposed to be a simple upgrade...

I'll go enjoy 1 last night of gaming before I RMA these for yet another set of RAM...



Offline Heartless

  • -Heartless-
  • BC Members
  • BC Regular
  • Posts: 6220
    • View Profile
Re: Fixed my sound...and then-
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2011, 05:45:08 am »
whats the blue screen message

Offline Hambone

  • I'll remove my shirt AND BLIND YOU ALL!!
  • BC Regular
  • Posts: 8370
  • Baseball is the greatest thing on Earth...
    • View Profile
Re: Fixed my sound...and then-
« Reply #2 on: January 19, 2011, 05:56:45 am »
I didn't write it down. I just recognized it from a computer I fixed for a friend whose memory was bad.

Offline Some Random Dude

  • That lucky guy that somehow snagged the beautiful Adi <3
  • BC Regular
  • Posts: 3359
    • View Profile
Re: Fixed my sound...and then-
« Reply #3 on: January 19, 2011, 06:21:27 am »
Ouch... that sucks dude... Talk about bad luck... :(
 
If you need a hug you know where I am  :heart:
 
|Random|
[19:40] NeckFace: Pinkie cooks her food by screaming at it
[12:04] MSG_Pinkie: lol, my life is hax.
[16:36] ုMiss Jetty: im so hungry i could eat a carpet
[21:02] ုKelly087: im a girl its my job to PMS
ုKelly-087 - Halo! =0 says (9:16 PM): im only a canadian super pipsqueak


Offline Abzstrak

  • BC Regular
  • Posts: 14474
    • View Profile
    • The ßÇ Clan
Re: Fixed my sound...and then-
« Reply #4 on: January 19, 2011, 08:14:10 am »
RAM failures in memtest don't necessarily mean the RAM is bad, just that it is not working as it is currently set at.  Make sure all the memory timings in the BIOS are correct, maybe even alittle on the conservative side.
--Abzstrak

Offline LaLa

  • 100% Certified Jager Bomber
  • BC Members
  • BC Regular
  • Posts: 2260
    • View Profile
Re: Fixed my sound...and then-
« Reply #5 on: January 19, 2011, 05:48:47 pm »
You need to fix that to: "Fixed my sound.... AN DEN!"
DimeBagDurm (10:26:11 AM): its so crazy my friends dont even have babies anymore, they have... like... real little... people lol

Offline Hambone

  • I'll remove my shirt AND BLIND YOU ALL!!
  • BC Regular
  • Posts: 8370
  • Baseball is the greatest thing on Earth...
    • View Profile
Re: Fixed my sound...and then-
« Reply #6 on: January 19, 2011, 07:31:13 pm »
Ah, ok Abz. I was unaware. I fiddled with some ram settings in the bios, and am running another memtest.

Offline Realman

  • REALBIGTURD
  • BC Members
  • BC Regular
  • Posts: 449
    • View Profile
Re: Fixed my sound...and then-
« Reply #7 on: January 19, 2011, 07:55:34 pm »
your not OC'd are you?
"I have aids" - Domino

Offline Hambone

  • I'll remove my shirt AND BLIND YOU ALL!!
  • BC Regular
  • Posts: 8370
  • Baseball is the greatest thing on Earth...
    • View Profile
Re: Fixed my sound...and then-
« Reply #8 on: January 19, 2011, 08:30:12 pm »
your not OC'd are you?
No. That would have been the first thing I would have changed if I was.  But if I ever polish this Boner Champ thing off, I'd like to.


I took a pic of the memtest results (they were the same as before).  This is also with both sticks in the machine since my heatsink overhangs the slots, I didn't feel like taking it apart.  I always thought errors meant bad RAM. Any ideas from this?



Offline Snowisfun

  • BC Regular
  • Posts: 6381
    • View Profile
Re: Fixed my sound...and then-
« Reply #9 on: January 19, 2011, 08:52:04 pm »
test one stick at a time

Online ATL

  • BC Leaders
  • BC Regular
  • Posts: 4655
    • View Profile
Re: Fixed my sound...and then-
« Reply #10 on: January 19, 2011, 10:03:24 pm »
That's not the memory you linked to in the other post is it? 


Offline Hambone

  • I'll remove my shirt AND BLIND YOU ALL!!
  • BC Regular
  • Posts: 8370
  • Baseball is the greatest thing on Earth...
    • View Profile
Re: Fixed my sound...and then-
« Reply #11 on: January 20, 2011, 12:54:10 am »

Online ATL

  • BC Leaders
  • BC Regular
  • Posts: 4655
    • View Profile
Re: Fixed my sound...and then-
« Reply #12 on: January 20, 2011, 06:52:40 am »
Yes, it is:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231303

The mem settings in the screen shot look wrong.  It may be a memtest86 thing but, my memory is very similar, Gskill DDR3 1600 7 7 7 24.  It can be kind of tricky to get it to run at 800MHz.  By default it is recognized as DDR3 1333 9 9 9 24, which is no problem and the memory will function just fine at these default settings. 


So default is DRAM Frequency 666.7, FSB DRAM 3:10, CL 9.0, tRCD 9, tRP 9, tRAS 24, tRC 33, and CR 1T.   

Your screen shot is showing 533Mhz (DDR1066) CAS 2.5-6-0-5, which looks wrong. 

When Abz pointed out that incorrect settings could give erroneous errors with memtest I thought I should point this out.  It might be worth looking into. 

 I don't touch the memory settings until I have run all my baseline stress / benchmarks on default settings.

To get it to run at 1600 (800Mhz) I have to switch to over-clocking and manually select each setting.  A cas latency of less than 8 will not work, even though the memory is rated at 7.  So I end up with 8-7-7-24.


« Last Edit: January 20, 2011, 07:31:14 am by ATL »


Offline Infantryman

  • Fish on!
  • BC Admin
  • BC Regular
  • Posts: 11668
    • View Profile
Re: Fixed my sound...and then-
« Reply #13 on: January 20, 2011, 10:26:27 am »
Ya Gotta love PeeCees
“Help a man when he's in trouble and he will remember when he's in trouble again.”